Gazi University Department of Chemistry has a long history. In 1982, it was included as a separate department within the Faculty of Science and Letters of Gazi University. In 2011, with the separation of Science and Letters Faculties within Gazi University, it took its place among the Faculty of Science departments. In Gazi University, Department of Chemistry; there are 5 divisions: Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physical Chemistry and Organic Chemistry.